The Heath String Quartet

Introducing the performers…

Oliver Heath (violin)
Cerys Jones (violin)
Gary Pomeroy (viola)
Chris Murray (cello)

The Heath Quartet was formed in 2002 at the Royal Northern College of Music, under the guidance of the late Dr Christopher Rowland and Alasdair Tait. The Quartet are now themselves Professors of Chamber Music at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama.

Since being selected by YCAT and winning 1st Prize at the Tromp Competition in 2008, the Heath Quartet have forged a strong international presence. In 2011, they were awarded a prestigious Borletti-Buitoni Special Ensemble Scholarship and undertook complete Beethoven cycles at the Facyl Festival in Salamanca and in Edinburgh. They went on to win the 2012 Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Highlights in recent years have included recitals at Wigmore Hall as part of the Emerging Talent scheme, including the premiere of a new work by Luke Bedford, and collaborations with Stephen Hough and Ian Bostridge. The quartet made their debut at the Kissingen Winterzauber, Schwetzinger and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festivals; the deSingel Arts Centre in Antwerp; the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels; the Berlin Konzerthaus; and the Stadtstheatre in Grein. They also and appeared at the Salisbury, Spitalfields and Peasmarsh Festivals. The quartet also toured throughout the Netherlands and Argentina, and returned to Banff to work with the Florestan Piano Trio, the Tokyo Quartet, Colin Currie, Michael Collins, Joanna MacGregor, Bram van Seembeck, and composers Brett Dean and Steven Mackey.

Other engagements have included the complete Tippett and Bartók cycles, and a recital with the soprano Anna Caterina Antonacci at Wigmore Hall, as well as debut recitals at the Louvre and Musée d’Orsay in Paris, and return visits to the Concertgebouw and their debut in the United States.

“It was lovely to hear playing that had a genuine intimacy about it.”


“Broad paragraphs of bold expression were avidly pursued but always stemmed from a lucid intellectual plane.”

The Strad

“A performance exceptional in its perception…”

The Herald

“…the music’s potency and bravura were conveyed with thrilling conviction.”

The Guardian

Click here for more information.



July 10, 2016 at 11:15

  • Mozart: String Quartet No 17 in B flat, K458 (“The Hunt”)
  • Beethoven: String Quartet, op 127

Book Tickets by Telephone


  • £12.00 adults
  • £11.00 full-time students, senior citizens and children 10-16

Call +44 7518 479062 to reserve tickets in advance

(Please note: Tickets reserved by telephone will be held at the door on the day until 11:00 only.)

More Venue & Ticketing Information

Click here for information on the Holywell Music Room, purchasing tickets from resellers and where to get your complimentary cup of coffee.